musicians from across europe – music without borders

24 february 2019 | 11:30 |leiden | stadsgehoorzaal


coffee and music: Brahms, Turnage & Francaix

sunday 24 february | 11:30

stadsgehoorzaal leiden



For this morning concert in Leiden, the New European Ensemble brings together Brahms's classic Clarinet Quintet with  Jean Francaix’s humorous work composed in 1977, Hebert Howells's voluptuous Rhapsodic Quintet and Turnage's introvert An Invention on Solitude. Three countries; two centuries; five instruments.




Herbert Howells - Rhapsodic Quintet op. 31

Jean Francaix - Clarinet quintet

Mark Anthony Turnage - An invention on solitude

Johannes Brahms - Clarinet quintet in b op. 115



James Meldrum - clarinet

Rada Ovcharova -  violin

Mihkel Kerem - violin

Emlyn Stam - viola

Willem Stam - cello


Follow us on:

Latest facebook posts

New European Ensemble is supported by Fonds Podiumkunsten (from 2017) and the city of The Hague