musicians from across europe – music without borders

saturday 20 june 2015 |15:30|the hague | Garden nutshuis


mellow madman

Malcolm Arnold Divertimento for Wind Trio, opus 37 (1952)

Antonín Dvorák Lento from American String quartet

Elliot Carter Eight Etudes and a Fantasy for Woodwind Quartet

Ludwig van Beethoven Trio, opus 87

Joey Roukens Mellow Madman


New European Ensemble

Felicia van den End flute

Christopher Bouwman oboe

James Meldrum clarinet

Ryanne Hofman bassclarinet

> Free entrance

about the programme


Follow us on:

Latest facebook posts

Discover music from the ‘old’ and ‘new’ world set for the colourful combination of flute, oboe, clarinet and bassclarinet. The 20th century English composer Malcolm Arnold was well known for his accessible tonal music. His Divertimento for wind trio is made up of six dance movements. The American composer Elliot Carter won fame for the rhythmic complexity of his work. His early Eight Etudes and a Fantasy for Woodwind Quintet are written in a charming neoclassical style.


Joey Roukens wrote Mellow Madmen for the New European Ensemble during a television program hosted by NTR where composers and ensembles met and presented the world premiere of a new piece in a matter of hours. Beethoven conceived his rarely performed wind trio for the growing ranks of amateur musicians who took up woodwind playing in Vienna in 1794.

New European Ensemble is supported by Fonds Podiumkunsten (from 2017) and the city of The Hague