musicians from across europe – music without borders


27 november|i concerti della normale|pisa | pauluskerk

i concerti della normale

The concerts in Pisa are quite special. Classical music became part of the Scuola Normale almost forty years ago, when the presence of music in universities was practically unheard of. The Concerts of the Normale provide a season of varying musical periods and styles, of instrumental interpretation and shifting composition genres – even by the same composer – which help participants better assess and understand the innovative and experimental expression of contemporary music.



Follow us on:

I Concerti della Normale




The New European Ensemble presents Prokofiev’s classic quintet for clarinet, oboe, violin, viola and double bass alongside a world premiere work by the young Italian composer Gabriele Cosmi for oboe and strings. Penderecki’s dark quartet for clarinet and strings was inspired by Mahler’s work and Mozart’s oboe quartet is one the most brilliant, balanced, charming chamber pieces of its kind.




Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart - Oboe Quartet K. 370

Gabriele Cosmi - Musica per oboe e archi (world premiere)

Krzysztof Penderecki  - Quartet for clarinet and strings

Sergej Prokofiev - Quintet in G minor


New European Ensemble is supported by Fonds Podiumkunsten (from 2017) and the city of The Hague