6 September 2019 | 3:00 pm | Bucharest
Enescu Festival 2019

The New European Ensemble travels to Romania for a first performance at the George Enescu festival!

Music from the 21st century. Five pieces by new and renowned composers with two world premiers by Carlo Boccadoro and Peter Adriaansz.

Peter Adriaansz has written a new work for New European Ensemble that delves into our experience of continuing overlapping ostinato (repetitive short musical motives). He reflects on how layers of sound interact. José Sanchez Verdu examines the interaction and interplay of light, dark, religion and reason, in a piece inspired by Goya’s ink drawings Lux ex Tenebris of an angel emerging from darkness.

Anna Thorvaldsdottir’s Ro is a work that has gotten an iconic status in a short period of time. The young Icelandic composer have had a impressive career. Anna is currently Composer-in-Residence with the Iceland Symphony Orchestra. In spring 2019, she is also Composer-in-Residence at the Royal Academy of Music in London.


Carlo Boccardo – New Work (2018) (flute, bass clarinet, violin, viola, cello, percussion, piano)

Peter Adriaansz – New Work (2019)

Anna Thorvaldsdóttir – Ró (2013)

Adrian Pop – “Silk and Metal” Quartet (2011)

José María Sánchez – Verdú Lux es Tenebris (2003)

Enescu Festival 2019
6 September 2019 | 3:00 pm
Radio Hall | Bucharest