Metamorphoses Nocturnes – An unforgettable evening of contemporary chamber music performed by the New European String Quartet.

Kareem Roustom’s ‘Shades of Night’ is a mesmerizing composition exploring the nuances of night through nine distinct movements. Inspired by classical Arabic terms, Roustom weaves a rich tapestry reflecting on the Syrian civil war’s impact.

Kinan Abou-Afach’s  ‘Chronicles I’ (à la sama’i) for String Quartet is a contemporary composition reflecting Abou-Afach’s experiences and emotions as a Syrian migrant in Chicago. Drawing inspiration from Middle Eastern sama’i music, it captures a range of emotions, from melancholy to hope. Commissioned by the Grand Teton Music Festival and dedicated to Donald Runnicles.

Zaid Jabri’s ‘Prelude and Adagio’ (In memoriam of Krzysztof Penderecki) is a heartfelt tribute to his mentor Krzysztof Penderecki, exploring timbres with extended techniques in a concise duration. ‘Prelude and Adagio’ won the Special Prize Piero Pezzé in the XIV International Composition Competition.

György Ligeti’s String Quartet No. 1 ‘Métamorphoses nocturnes’ was composed in 1953–54. This quartet, a 21-minute masterpiece divided into 17 sections, each with its unique character and tempo, reflects the earlier period of Ligeti’s work before leaving Hungary.

Rada Ovcharova violin
Jellantsje de Vries violin
Emlyn Stam viola
Willem Stam cello

December 16, 2023 at 8:15 PM | Mennonite Community, Utrecht

Get your tickets here!